Welcome
Ladies and Gents:

These forums are now closed and registration disabled.

Please join us at our new forum on Proboards. Our hope is that these new forums are more stable, provide more and better features, and allow continuation of the project forums in a safer, more secure, long term environment.

me3explorer.proboards.com

--The ME3Explorer Team

CR: Adding Levels

Technical research related to the structure of Mass Effect game files.

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby AVPen » 26 Jan 2014, 15:50

WarrantyVoider wrote:whats the difference between new content and DLC?!^^

greetz WV

The former is free and made by fans, while the later EA will charge you money in order to play. :P
User avatar
AVPen
Modder
 
Posts: 458
Joined: 03 Feb 2013, 19:41
Has thanked: 21 time
Have thanks: 116 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 26 Jan 2014, 17:19

so why would you wanna make DLCs? this is a free toolset :P

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby greenflag » 26 Jan 2014, 22:28

WarrantyVoider wrote:whats the difference between new content and DLC?!^^

greetz WV


Sorry, I did not realize it. :roll:

Can I ask for? Will be in level editor able to add NPC spawn & waypoints, create own level with objects/meshes from the game and also do scripts for cinematic actions?
I know, it's very difficult question and you doing amazing work with this.
User avatar
greenflag
User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Jan 2014, 03:35
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 26 Jan 2014, 23:49

simple answer, one at a time, just let me finish my exam first, k? otherwise I plan to first make some kind of import of objects from other files (for picked classes like meshes, textures, kismet stuff) and then new editors for level, sequence and file editing. if someone writes a working unreal script compiler over the year, you could get that too :P

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 30 Jan 2014, 12:57

just adding here: you can use all this on the demo too, so if you wanna spread new content you can give it with the demo away, no pirating needed^^

Image

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 01 Feb 2014, 14:15

today I investigated a bit the commandline usage inside the exe

Image

you can autostart into levels by using commandline args!

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby Sil » 04 Feb 2014, 20:47

It's been awhile since I logged on here, and I must say I'm shocked at the progress! Adding new levels? That's incredible!

I wonder, how possible would it be to import Mass Effect 1 and 2 levels into Me3? The levels in those could serve as a basis for small missions for gaining War Assets.
Sil
User
 
Posts: 189
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 15:29
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 13 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 18 Feb 2014, 00:09

ok, here comes my first try to add stuff over DLC. The DLCEditor2 can add files now to the sfar, but it wont get loaded from inside the sfar, so I added the file in the same folder as the sfar. If anyone finds out how to do it without having the files outside the sfar, let me know^^ anyway, I didnt even needed to add the file in the sfar, I only edited the PCConsoleTOC.bin to include my file. works pretty well, just you have to wait after DLC check in MainMenu to access the new stuff



greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby AVPen » 18 Feb 2014, 01:49

^ So to clarify, you were able to add the new level via a pre-existing DLC or were you able to add it via a brand new DLC content to the game?
(little hard to tell from your wording, but if it's the later... that'd be mighty exciting indeed)
User avatar
AVPen
Modder
 
Posts: 458
Joined: 03 Feb 2013, 19:41
Has thanked: 21 time
Have thanks: 116 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 18 Feb 2014, 02:18

well for now its *added* to an existing DLC, but I guess its a question of TOC.bin paths to create your own... more testing and we will see^^

greetz WV

PS:forgot to add the file so you can test yourself^^
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Research

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred