Welcome
Ladies and Gents:

These forums are now closed and registration disabled.

Please join us at our new forum on Proboards. Our hope is that these new forums are more stable, provide more and better features, and allow continuation of the project forums in a safer, more secure, long term environment.

me3explorer.proboards.com

--The ME3Explorer Team

CR: Adding Levels

Technical research related to the structure of Mass Effect game files.

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby The Fob » 18 Feb 2014, 02:56

Hey, does that provide a solution for the "corrupt DLC" problem that KFreon was investigating? If we can just exclude the big files from the sfar and put them in the folder (sort of next to it), the sfar itself won't get bigger than 2 GB and the corrupt message shouldn't show up, right?
User avatar
The Fob
Modder
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 08 Oct 2012, 04:37
Has thanked: 242 time
Have thanks: 212 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby Blad3Zer0 » 18 Feb 2014, 04:07

But can files originally found within the .sfar be completely excluded?

If they can, I'm sure we'll just be a step closer to getting rid of SFARs entirely.
Blad3Zer0
User
 
Posts: 223
Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 11:28
Has thanked: 92 time
Have thanks: 28 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby KFreon » 18 Feb 2014, 12:30

@The Fob: That's what I'm thinking too. How handy would that be?
User avatar
KFreon
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 00:57
Has thanked: 83 time
Have thanks: 520 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 18 Feb 2014, 12:49

@Fob, its a guess, but maybe you could delete the files inside the sfar and unpack it in the sfar folder, as long as the DLCs TOC.bin knows about it, but again, this was a test I did late at night before going to sleep, so more testing is definitly needed^^

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section

WarrantyVoider has been thanked by:
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby realsurvivor686 » 27 Feb 2014, 22:23

@The FOB

You mentioned that its plausible that using hex editing one could set certain planets to trigger certain mission.

Therefore could the following be plausible:
1. Import MP levels into the main CookedPCConsole
2. Edit TOC bin to reflect these new pccs
3. Hex edit the game into launching these maps when we go to a certain planet

Basically get the ME2 style side missions via MP levels and hex editing. Storyline delivered via message inbox and whatnot.
realsurvivor686
User
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 10 Jan 2014, 18:23
Has thanked: 17 time
Have thanks: 30 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby FemShep » 03 Oct 2014, 03:33

There are 7 extra maps that aren't actually used in this game. 6 of them are in MP4 Retaliation and there is a Thes2 which is almost done in Rebellion.
Image
ME3Tweaks has modding guides, tools, forums for mods, a modding wiki, and ModMaker, an online mod creation tool.
ME3 Mod Manager, the civilized way of installing and managing ME3 mods.
ME3Tweaks Facebook Page

FemShep has been thanked by:
User avatar
FemShep
Modder
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: 18 Oct 2012, 20:48
Has thanked: 42 time
Have thanks: 76 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby WarrantyVoider » 03 Oct 2014, 15:02

could you tell the console command for them?

greetz WV
always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby FemShep » 03 Oct 2014, 19:16

I don't know how to use the console to open them (since past resurgence doesn't work without extra tricks) but here are the names (of the files at least):

Rebellion:
MPThes2

Retaliation:
MPPump
MPSub
MPTest
MPBrdg
MPRays
MPFoun

I found them when I was trying to add in the old levels a while ago in Full Experience Mod. The MPThes2 one looks nearly done but they didn't add any enemy spots/objective areas. All but one of the retaliation ones don't have lighting, but they completely work. You can actually add them to the map list and they will load.

Here is some gameplay https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0Va1ehArec
Image
ME3Tweaks has modding guides, tools, forums for mods, a modding wiki, and ModMaker, an online mod creation tool.
ME3 Mod Manager, the civilized way of installing and managing ME3 mods.
ME3Tweaks Facebook Page
User avatar
FemShep
Modder
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: 18 Oct 2012, 20:48
Has thanked: 42 time
Have thanks: 76 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby Erik JS » 03 Oct 2014, 19:55

MP2
open BioP_MPThes2

MP4
open BioP_MPBrdg
open BioP_MPFoun
open BioP_MPPump
open BioP_MPRays
open BioP_MPSub
open BioP_MPTest

I "sort of" found those by myself too, but Riccoshot was the one who made them public (as far as I know).

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... tJamvJh4WB

In one of the conversations with him, I told him about an UE command called viewmode.

Spoiler:
[quote="me @ YouTube, Jul 17 2013"]Hi. I saw your topic at BSN and I would like to share something with you. I'm not sure if you found this already, but you can change the lighting in the unreleased maps with viewmode.
viewmode unlit
viewmode detaillighting
viewmode shadercomplexity

I found the command here: http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/ConsoleCommands.html
Search for viewmode. I don't remember if all modes work.

There's a command which allows you to change to another character in the map, I can't remember the name. Did you find it?

Also, did you know about 'mpbots'?

For the record, I never tried those online for obvious reasons, but I assume BioWare isn't giving a rats *** for MP mods now.
ME3 Private Server Emulator: @ ME3Tweaks | @ SourceForge | @ GitHub | @ Dropbox
Image
User avatar
Erik JS
User
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 31 Jul 2014, 14:44
Has thanked: 13 time
Have thanks: 77 time

Re: CR: Adding Levels

Postby JunkoXan » 03 Oct 2014, 20:28

I wonder how we can get those levels finished it would be pretty nice. :D I'm curious as to how finished exactly Thes2 is :)

JunkoXan has been thanked by:
JunkoXan
User
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 26 Apr 2014, 16:02
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 15 time

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Research

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred