Welcome
Ladies and Gents:

These forums are now closed and registration disabled.

Please join us at our new forum on Proboards. Our hope is that these new forums are more stable, provide more and better features, and allow continuation of the project forums in a safer, more secure, long term environment.

me3explorer.proboards.com

--The ME3Explorer Team

[ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Basic questions on how to achieve certain modding goals with the toolset. Texture and mesh-related questions have their own subforum. Answers not guaranteed.

[ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby lexo1000 » 04 Sep 2016, 10:14

Hello !
Im looking for a way to set my game in English but keep french subtitles & text. I know that voice & text are link in ME1 so I wonder if ME3Explorer could help me to extract English voices & replace french voice with them.

Thanks !
lexo1000
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 08:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby Kinkojiro » 05 Sep 2016, 04:23

This might work:

rename BioGame_FRA.tlk file to BioGame_INT.tlk (keep a copy of the original _INT.tlk as a backup).

Run AutoTOC afterwards.
User avatar
Kinkojiro
Modder
 
Posts: 578
Joined: 02 Dec 2013, 04:14
Has thanked: 233 time
Have thanks: 249 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby lexo1000 » 05 Sep 2016, 18:06

Thanks but Im asking for Mass Effect 1 ;)
lexo1000
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 08:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby SirCxyrtyx » 05 Sep 2016, 18:55

My version of the game is english only, so I'm taking a few guesses here. If you look in Mass Effect\BioGame\CookedPC\Maps\JUG\DSG (Or any of the DSG folders), are there files that end in LOC_int.sfm? Are there ones that end in LOC_fra.sfm? If so, you could try doing a batch rename on all files in the Mass Effect\BioGame\CookedPC folder. Rename the LOC_fra files to LOC_bak or something, and then rename the LOC_int files to LOC_fra. Hopefully, that would cause english voices to be used when the game is set to french. This is just a guess on my part though.
User avatar
SirCxyrtyx
Toolset Lead
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 00:20
Has thanked: 28 time
Have thanks: 288 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby lexo1000 » 06 Sep 2016, 19:50

Hi SirCxyrtyx thanks for help !
In fact in this folder I have for example :
- BIOA_JUG20_00_DSG.SFM (5041ko size)
- BIOA_JUG20_00_DSG_LOC_FR.SFM (418ko)
- BIOA_JUG20_00_DSG_LOC_int.SFM (413ko)

Does the DSG folders contains voices? ME3Effect can extract these files?
lexo1000
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 08:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby SirCxyrtyx » 06 Sep 2016, 21:54

The LOC_*.sfm files contain the audio. I don't believe ME3Explorer can't extract the audio from ME1. THat would also be really tedious to extract all the english audio and stick it in the french files. But I think renaming all the LOC_int files to LOC_FR in the entire CookedPC folder might work.
User avatar
SirCxyrtyx
Toolset Lead
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 00:20
Has thanked: 28 time
Have thanks: 288 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby lexo1000 » 07 Sep 2016, 18:55

I renamed all the LOC_int to LOC_FR & copy/paste them but now my game is full English. It seem that subtitles & text are included in .sfm files..
No way to extract these files to see what they contain exactly?
Thanks for helping me :)
lexo1000
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 08:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby lexo1000 » 05 Oct 2016, 17:50

Hi ! I see a new tool in ME3Explorer 3.0 called ME1 TLK Editor. Does it can help me to set my game in English with french sub?
Thanks
lexo1000
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 08:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: [ME1] Get english voice with french sub

Postby SirCxyrtyx » 05 Oct 2016, 19:53

Yes. Technically. But you'd have to go through every file with dialogue, extract the french tlks, then replace the english ones with the french ones you extracted. So, possible, but it will take a while.

Just so you know, the ME1 TLK Editor has not been tested very much, and as far as I know no one has ever used it. So you may encounter bugs.
User avatar
SirCxyrtyx
Toolset Lead
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 00:20
Has thanked: 28 time
Have thanks: 288 time


Return to How do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred