Welcome
Ladies and Gents:

These forums are now closed and registration disabled.

Please join us at our new forum on Proboards. Our hope is that these new forums are more stable, provide more and better features, and allow continuation of the project forums in a safer, more secure, long term environment.

me3explorer.proboards.com

--The ME3Explorer Team

New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Development board for ME3Explorer tools. Please try to keep discussions for each tool inside its own thread.

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby The Fob » 20 Sep 2016, 04:31

@SirCxyrtyx: If you feel like making a tool out of this simple command line prog, that'd be great!
The code is really simple, so it should it'll probably take you about 30 seconds to transfer it. :)
User avatar
The Fob
Modder
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 08 Oct 2012, 04:37
Has thanked: 242 time
Have thanks: 212 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby SirCxyrtyx » 20 Sep 2016, 04:41

giftfish wrote:@Sir -- Can we use drag/drop from a standard windows directory into the toolset? Like for selecting which OGGs we want to use for replacement audio?

Absolutely.

giftfish wrote:A more general question: I'm thinking we can probably remove the functionality of replacing WAVs via Soundplorers Import/Export/Direct AFC replace methods? Since folks should be putting new audio into new AFCs, instead?

Something to keep in mind is that some sounds are pcc-stored. A direct-replacement option would be necessary for those, at the very least.
User avatar
SirCxyrtyx
Toolset Lead
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 00:20
Has thanked: 28 time
Have thanks: 288 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby giftfish » 20 Sep 2016, 12:20

SirCxyrtyx wrote:Something to keep in mind is that some sounds are pcc-stored. A direct-replacement option would be necessary for those, at the very least.

This I did not know, so thanks for clarifying :)

The replacement method actually should no longer matter as far as the GUI workflow I came up with last night. However, if we allow replacement within vanilla AFCs we either need to change how that works behind the scenes so that size isn't an issue, or we need to have it work under different constraints than a non-vanilla AFC and not allow the replacement unless it's within the vanilla size range.

I have no idea how sound replacement within PCCs works and if the toolset even supports it. Assuming that the sound is concatenated to the end of the file, then in theory, I think the modder could use whatever file size they need to.
User avatar
giftfish
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: 08 Jan 2016, 02:35
Has thanked: 129 time
Have thanks: 75 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby giftfish » 20 Sep 2016, 12:23

The Fob wrote:@SirCxyrtyx: If you feel like making a tool out of this simple command line prog, that'd be great!
The code is really simple, so it should it'll probably take you about 30 seconds to transfer it. :)

This will be pretty cool, Fob. We're merging about 4.5 tools into the new Audio Editor:

--Audio Extractor
--Soundplorer
--WwiseBank Editor
--Your AFC Creator
--Plus some elements of PackEd

All audio-related editing, all in one tool :D

Short of Wwise and Audacity, lol.

giftfish has been thanked by:
User avatar
giftfish
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: 08 Jan 2016, 02:35
Has thanked: 129 time
Have thanks: 75 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby Deager » 20 Sep 2016, 14:14

giftfish wrote:@deager/Fob/JohnP -- You guys have also done lots of audio work. Please let me know if there's any UI elements or functionality you want to see.


I probably should have an idea but I'm so used to what I'm doing that I can't think of any functionality I want added.

giftfish wrote:A more general question: I'm thinking we can probably remove the functionality of replacing WAVs via Soundplorers Import/Export/Direct AFC replace methods? Since folks should be putting new audio into new AFCs, instead? Allows them to keep the quality significantly better and to not overwrite a vanilla AFC. Anyone know if new AFCs will work in the base game Cooked? If the modder for some reason doesn't want to use a DLC mod?


Not sure if this is answered later in the thread and I don't know about afc stuff in the base game. Theoretically, yes, it would work...I think. But I think we really need people to get used to DLC mods since they are massively malleable and, I think, much better for the end user.
User avatar
Deager
Modder
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 01:37
Has thanked: 284 time
Have thanks: 164 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby giftfish » 20 Sep 2016, 14:23

Deager wrote:Not sure if this is answered later in the thread and I don't know about afc stuff in the base game. Theoretically, yes, it would work...I think. But I think we really need people to get used to DLC mods since they are massively malleable and, I think, much better for the end user.

The new DLC Mod Generator we'll be making should help substantially.

Also, Sir pointed out that some sounds are PCC-stored, which I didn't know. So, it looks like we'll need to retain the functionality, but hopefully we can improve on it. For example, from what I understand, the reason we need to stay within the same size range for vanilla AFCs, is b/c the hex pointers don't get changed. We're literally swapping out the bytes in the same area of the file, which is why we have to keep the sound the same length and size. Why not change this so that the new sound is concatenated to the end of the AFC and then the hex is adjusted and the file name repointed, just like when generating a new AFC?

Is there some reason why this method was never put into Soundplorer that I'm missing? >.> Music has it's own complications with the banks, which is something else we'll address, but for dialogue, I can't see why this method wouldn't work.
User avatar
giftfish
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: 08 Jan 2016, 02:35
Has thanked: 129 time
Have thanks: 75 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby Deager » 20 Sep 2016, 15:06

The history on that issue with moving new sounds to the end was we didn't have the dll fix. So, anytime we had a file larger than the original, we borked the game and it wouldn't authorize or load. But if we kept file sizes the same or smaller, we could get stuff done.

Now of course we have the dll thing so that limitation got lifted. That's my understanding of it anyway. And I only worked with the Citadel DLC back then so I'm not sure what core game stuff did.
User avatar
Deager
Modder
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 01:37
Has thanked: 284 time
Have thanks: 164 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby giftfish » 20 Sep 2016, 15:29

@deager -- That makes some sense. The DLL fix wasn't needed for base game files, though, so that's a bit weird.

Anyway, sounds like we should be able to make some improvements :)
User avatar
giftfish
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: 08 Jan 2016, 02:35
Has thanked: 129 time
Have thanks: 75 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby Deager » 20 Sep 2016, 16:13

giftfish wrote:@deager -- That makes some sense. The DLL fix wasn't needed for base game files, though, so that's a bit weird.

Anyway, sounds like we should be able to make some improvements :)


Good point...yeah, well, someone way smarter than me could confirm but regardless, you're right, we have some improvements coming. I'll have to try them out instead of using my old school methods. :)
User avatar
Deager
Modder
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 01:37
Has thanked: 284 time
Have thanks: 164 time

Re: New(ish) Tool | Audio Editor

Postby The Fob » 21 Sep 2016, 16:19

@deager -- That makes some sense. The DLL fix wasn't needed for base game files, though, so that's a bit weird.

IIRC, the main problem really was that it took us a while to figure out how/where to exchange the HEX in the pcc files, that indicates offset/length of the sounds. So when we did this for the very first time, we tried to keep everything as it was as much as possible and just change bytes.

@deager/Fob/JohnP -- You guys have also done lots of audio work. Please let me know if there's any UI elements or functionality you want to see.


So, one thing I really got used to was to work with batch files that call AFC creator commands. It's great because it saves your work procedure, rather then the result only. You can save your replacements in a .bat file and do as many modifications to the original files as you like with just one command/click, while not modifying the original file at all. If you want to change some of your edits later, you just need to change one line in the bat file and run it again, rather then work out what's where in the new afc file again.
If we could implement batch execution and saving or something similar in the new tool, that would be perfect.

The Fob has been thanked by:
User avatar
The Fob
Modder
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 08 Oct 2012, 04:37
Has thanked: 242 time
Have thanks: 212 time

PreviousNext

Return to ME3Explorer Toolset Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

suspicion-preferred