Welcome
Ladies and Gents:

These forums are now closed and registration disabled.

Please join us at our new forum on Proboards. Our hope is that these new forums are more stable, provide more and better features, and allow continuation of the project forums in a safer, more secure, long term environment.

me3explorer.proboards.com

--The ME3Explorer Team

OS architecture poll

General news and announcements for ME3Explorer.

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby KFreon » 11 Sep 2015, 08:59

That's cos I capped the threading ages ago.
It's supposed to use the thread setting of the toolset, but it doesn't cos that ballooned the memory until it crashed.
So now it should do things faster too.
User avatar
KFreon
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 00:57
Has thanked: 83 time
Have thanks: 520 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby JunkoXan » 11 Sep 2015, 18:25

I have 8gb's of memory so i wish it would put that to good use as well my processor. xD
JunkoXan
User
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 26 Apr 2014, 16:02
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 15 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby FemShep » 11 Sep 2015, 18:37

Does the size of your graphics RAM matter? I've seen games die saying out of memory when my 64MB graphics card ran out.
Image
ME3Tweaks has modding guides, tools, forums for mods, a modding wiki, and ModMaker, an online mod creation tool.
ME3 Mod Manager, the civilized way of installing and managing ME3 mods.
ME3Tweaks Facebook Page
User avatar
FemShep
Modder
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: 18 Oct 2012, 20:48
Has thanked: 42 time
Have thanks: 76 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby KFreon » 11 Sep 2015, 22:46

The annoying thing is that OutOfMemory doesn't necessarily mean you don't have enough memory. C# won't let most things get bigger than 2gb, and if there's not enough contiguous free space in RAM, a MemoryStream constructor fails with OutOfMemory.
I guess that's kinda good, since it means bad things are happening in the code, but the old x86 limits made address space small and easy to fragment, thus easier to find a size that was just too big.
User avatar
KFreon
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 00:57
Has thanked: 83 time
Have thanks: 520 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby WarrantyVoider » 12 Sep 2015, 09:53

always backup your files!
mess with the best or die like the rest!
"I tried everything!" - "mkay, please list that..." ; please dont pm me for help, we have a help section
User avatar
WarrantyVoider
Emeritus
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 11:33
Has thanked: 480 time
Have thanks: 626 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby KFreon » 12 Sep 2015, 10:09

Yup, I re-enabled the post build event to set that flag.
User avatar
KFreon
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 00:57
Has thanked: 83 time
Have thanks: 520 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby ebg2465 » 14 Sep 2015, 01:00

64bit
User avatar
ebg2465
User
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 01 Nov 2013, 19:10
Location: Philadelphia/South Jersey
Has thanked: 3 time
Have thanks: 2 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby mirh » 20 Sep 2015, 13:50

64 bit.
But does this mean you are wondering whether to ship 64 bit executables?
Because I don't see what's the point in exceeding the 4GB limit of 32 bit applications.
mirh
User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 04 Nov 2013, 14:16
Has thanked: 66 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby FemShep » 21 Sep 2015, 14:29

Pretty sure its 2GB for windows apps.
Apparently 3GB with flags.
Image
ME3Tweaks has modding guides, tools, forums for mods, a modding wiki, and ModMaker, an online mod creation tool.
ME3 Mod Manager, the civilized way of installing and managing ME3 mods.
ME3Tweaks Facebook Page
User avatar
FemShep
Modder
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: 18 Oct 2012, 20:48
Has thanked: 42 time
Have thanks: 76 time

Re: OS architecture poll

Postby KFreon » 22 Sep 2015, 07:06

I plan on shipping AnyCPU executables.
My thinking is that it will allow users with tonnes of RAM to not have to worry about what else might be using their RAM with the toolset.

It also means that the OS won't have to do as much work to clean up memory. As far as I know, x64 + RAM is less keen on recovering memory unless it has to because the possible pool is so much bigger.
I dunno, I'm hoping things will be better. Fortunately, it looks like we could switch to x64 and no one would notice...
User avatar
KFreon
Toolset Developer
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 00:57
Has thanked: 83 time
Have thanks: 520 time

PreviousNext

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

suspicion-preferred